Carlsbad E-Bike Accident Lawyer
E-bikes, or electric bikes, have become extremely popular, yet serious crashes resulting in injuries and deaths are common. This has been a big issue in Carlsbad, a city that has enacted its own e-bike regulations. The Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) reported that emergency department visits due to e-bike injuries doubled between the years 2017-2021, and it is likely that serious accident rates are even higher since there is a “lack of complete, consistent, and reliable data.” The National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) recently reported that “fatalities associated with e-bike ridership have increased exponentially.” An experienced Carlsbad e-bike accident lawyer can help you to file a claim for compensation. Do not hesitate to get in touch with us to discuss your case.Learning More About E-Bike Accidents and Injuries in Carlsbad
Why are e-bikes so dangerous? According to a recent article in the New York Times, many e-bikes can travel at speeds that exceed 55 miles per hour and are popular among young and inexperienced riders. When you combine those factors with “complex traffic,” “fast-moving cars,” and “distracted drivers,” e-bike collisions occur frequently. Many e-bikes are also being used by riders who are underage and cannot legally ride an e-bike, but since e-bikes do not need to be registered as other vehicles do, it is often difficult to monitor.Rules for Riding an E-Bike in Carlsbad
The City of Carlsbad recently passed local laws intended to make e-bike riding safer and to prevent accidents and injuries. Some of those rules include, for example:
- Riders must be at least 16 years old for a Class 3 e-bike;
- All riders under 18 must wear a helmet on any e-bike;
- Class 3 e-bikes require helmets for all ages;
- E-bikes cannot be ridden on sidewalks; and
- Speed limit of 28 miles per hour for a Class 3 e-bike.
Injuries in e-bike accidents vary, and they also range widely in terms of severity. The following are some of the common types of injuries that riders sustain when they are involved in a crash or a collision:
- Traumatic brain injuries (TBIs), including concussions;
- Bone fractures;
- Cuts and lacerations;
- Abrasions, or road rash;
- Traumatic amputations; and
- Back and neck injuries, including spinal cord injuries.
Under California law, the statute of limitations for most personal injury cases — including e-bike accidents — is two years. Accordingly, most e-bike accident claims must be filed within two years from the date of the accident. However, it is important to know that certain types of claims have shorter timing requirements, so it is critical to discuss your case with a lawyer as soon as you can to avoid having a time-barred claim.Contact a Carlsbad Pedestrian Accident Attorney Today
While e-bikes have become extremely popular in Southern California and throughout much of the country, they are extremely dangerous and frequently result in serious injuries to riders. If you were injured in an e-bike crash or if your child was injured, it is important to get in touch with one of the experienced Carlsbad e-bike accident attorneys at the Walton Law Firm. We can assess your case, and we can talk with you about liability and your options for seeking compensation. Contact the Walton Law Firm to speak with an experienced attorney about your e-bike accident case.